Things I Want to Teach My Kids About Christmas

This post is a kind of continuation from Christmas is Coming, which is a backdrop of how I remember Christmas at my loving Papa Ed’s house.

Now many years later, I have a family of my own in an entirely different continent from where I grew up, consequently, my husband and I are defining our own Christmas tradition.

No Christ, no Christmas: To begin with, despite living in a country where the meaning of Christmas has been diluted, we want them to know that in our house, Christmas is about Jesus Christ. Without Him, there would be no celebration. Everything else is built upon that foundation.

Christ, the greatest gift to us: When my daughter was 9, I asked her how she would feel if we exchanged gifts in her absence on her birthday – this horrified her. Then I explained that is exactly what it meant when we failed to acknowledge Jesus as Lord on that day. She got it. While we share gifts and stuff, our children need to understand that we are celebrating God’s greatest gift to us – Jesus Christ. I’d like them to understand that this impossible account – the virgin birth did not just deliver a child, but the Messiah – Savior of the world!

Christ was born into a family unit: Our children need to understand that romantic relationships focused on doing God’s will, and following His unique purpose for family for the individuals involved paves way for His blessings in their lives. Christmas gives us a glimpse into just how very seriously God takes family. Not forgetting that He created the first family (Adam and Eve), we now see that even when God sent Jesus to the world, He had the Savior born into the family of Mary and Joseph.

Salvation, God’s plan all along: While we may never fully grasp how it had all come about – a young girl becoming the Savior’s mother, at least we can help our children understand that since the beginning of time God has had a plan for mankind – to have a relationship with us. Since He always involves humans in His plans, we have to be actively and positively engaged – that’s our part. If we obey, like Mary in Luke 2:19, treasuring up all these things, pondering them in our heart, then we shall reap the full benefits of His blessings.

The Son of God has always been present: I must have been over 18 when I first discovered that Jesus Christ has always been. Somehow, I had missed the lesson or we just were never taught. Whatever the case, I’m teaching my children that Christ’s life did not begin on Christmas. Although in deed His earthly/human life commenced in Mary’s womb, the Son of God is eternal – He “who is, and who was, and who is to come, the Almighty” (Revelation 1:8), “is the same yesterday and today and forever” (Hebrews 13:8). He is “the firstborn of all creation. For by Him all things were created … And He is before all things, and in Him all things hold together.” (Colossians 1:15-17).

I will share more next time (probably before Christmas). But before then, are there things you would like your kids to know about Christmas? Please share.

Leave a reply

